Software Guides

Best HMO Billing Software for Nigerian Hospitals (2027 Comparison)

Compare HMO billing software for Nigerian hospitals: ClinikEHR first, then six vendors read from their own pages in October 2026.

Back to Intelligence
Share This Dispatch

A hospital that bills several HMOs needs more than a feature list that says "insurance". An HMO (health maintenance organisation) is the insurer that pays part of a member's bill, at prices agreed with your hospital. Your software has to split each bill, hold each HMO's price list, track every claim and show what each HMO owes. This comparison is for hospital owners and billers in Nigeria who are choosing HMO billing software. It puts ClinikEHR first, then six vendors, using only what each one's own pages say.

Quick Answer

Choose HMO billing software by the nine tasks your billers do each week, then ask every vendor to run one real bill.

  • List your tasks. Nine tasks cover an HMO bill from the sale to the write-off, and Step 1 names them.
  • Read each vendor's own pages. Table B marks each task as Described, Named or Not stated, as read in October 2026.
  • Run the same bill. Ask every vendor to bill one illustrative sale and show where each share goes.
  • Ask for the gaps in writing. A page that says nothing is not a no, so ask the vendor.
  • Check size and plan. ClinikEHR bills HMOs on any plan once Insurance is set to Outside the US, so pick the plan by your staff numbers, not by HMO billing.

What Is HMO Billing Software, in Plain Words

HMO billing software is the part of a hospital system that handles the insurer's share of a bill.

A member, also called an enrollee, is a patient the HMO covers. A tariff is the price list agreed with an HMO for services and medicines. The co-payment is the share of the bill the patient pays. A claim is the bill you send an HMO for its share. A pre-authorization asks an HMO to agree in advance to pay, and the PA code it gives goes on the claim. Receivables are the amounts the HMOs still owe you. A write-off closes an amount an HMO will not pay. An API is a way for two software systems to exchange data. NHIA is Nigeria's National Health Insurance Authority. Its 2022 Act repealed the National Health Insurance Scheme Act, so older pages say NHIS (now NHIA).

How This Comparison Was Made

ClinikEHR publishes this page and lists itself first, so read it with that in mind. This comparison counts what each product's own public pages say about nine HMO billing functions, read in October 2026. A function a page does not mention is marked "not stated", which does not mean the product lacks it. ClinikEHR is listed first because its public Help Center and API documentation describe all nine. The nine are a hospital biller's own tasks, and each matches a documented ClinikEHR feature, so a task ClinikEHR has no feature for was not used. The count measures how much a vendor publishes, not how well its software works.

Each function gets one of three words. Described means the page says what the user does or what the system produces. Named means the page lists the function without saying how it works. Not stated means no page read says it. For ClinikEHR, Not offered marks three things it does not do.

The six vendors passed three tests. The vendor's own site shows it sells to Nigerian hospitals. The site names HMO or insurance billing as a function. The page could be read: a site behind a robot-check was not read, and the check was not completed. Among the vendors that passed, the six whose pages say the most about HMO billing were taken. Claims-processing intermediaries that sit between hospitals and HMOs were left out, because they are not hospital billing software.

The order is ClinikEHR first, then the six in alphabetical order with no rank numbers. The word "best" in the title is the search phrase. This page gives no score and no star rating, and it repeats no vendor statistic, review or customer count. Vendors may have changed their pages since October 2026, so open the linked page before you decide.

The Comparison at a Glance

Table A: How Each Product Is Sold (Prices as Read in October 2026)

ProductWhere it says it is basedPrice on its own pageTrial or demo
ClinikEHRDelaware, United States (Bettar Platforms, Inc.)Free ₦0; Essential ₦129,900 a month; Team ₦325,000 a month; Enterprise by quoteFree plan, no card; 30-day paid trial of Essential, ₦29,900 (card needed)
AjirMedNigeria (town not stated)Quote onlyDemo account, no card asked
eClinicPlusPort Harcourt₦350,000 first tier (setup plus first year, then ₦240,000 a year); ₦600,000 second tier (then ₦360,000 a year); third tier by quoteNone stated
HyellaAbuja#200,000 stand-alone, #400,000 server; yearly fee #70,000 or #90,000 (general FAQ page, no currency named)30 days (FAQ page); demo on request
Intuitive HMSLagosQuote only (monthly subscription)Free demo
MocDocChennai, India$4,200, $9,000 and $15,000 a year on three cards, each beside an unlabeled $4,700, $9,500 and $15,500; onboarding extra; fourth card by quoteNone stated; page says Book a Demo
Orion HMSNigeria (town not stated)From ₦300,000 a year plus ₦150,000 setup; from ₦900,000 plus ₦300,000; from ₦2,400,000 plus ₦600,000Free 30-minute demo

ClinikEHR's prices are the monthly rates from the pricing page, which opens on annual billing at a lower monthly equivalent. MocDoc's page shows a second, higher figure above each of three card prices with no label, so both are printed. Hyella's prices sit on a general FAQ page that names no currency, so they are printed as written.

Table B: What Each Product's Pages Say About HMO Billing

FunctionClinikEHRAjirMedeClinicPlusHyellaIntuitive HMSMocDocOrion HMS
Insurer and patient share on one billDescribedNot statedNot statedNamedNamedDescribedNot stated
Price list per insurerDescribedNot statedNot statedNot statedNamedDescribedNot stated
Claims register or trackingDescribedNamedNamedNot statedNot statedDescribedNamed
What each insurer owesDescribedNot statedNot statedNamedNamedNamedNamed
Recording insurer paymentsDescribedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNamedNot stated
Write-offsDescribedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Pre-authorizationDescribedNot statedNot statedNot statedNamedNamedNot stated
How claims reach the insurerDescribedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNamedNot stated
API for insurersDescribedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
NHIA reportingNot offeredNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Fraud scoringNot offeredNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated
Automatic tariff vettingNot offeredNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot statedNot stated

Read Table B as a count of what is published. None of the six vendors' pages that were read mentions NHIA reporting, fraud scoring or automatic tariff vetting, which is silence, not a claim that they lack them. The vendor blocks below tie each cell to the sentence it rests on.

ClinikEHR First: What It Does for HMO Billing

ClinikEHR follows the way an HMO bill is settled. At the till, Bill HMO splits the bill once. The patient pays only their share, and the insurer's share becomes a draft claim that is never counted as cash received. Each HMO gets its own price list agreed with the hospital, loaded from a CSV file or typed in. A claim line never goes above the hospital's own price. Claims sit in one register. A pre-authorization code carries onto the claim it supports.

Where the hospital has set up the HMO's chosen channel, the claim is delivered that way. The channels include the ClinikEHR API, a signed webhook, an email with a secure link, and the HMO's own portal, where nothing is sent from ClinikEHR. A signed webhook is a message posted to the HMO's web address. The HMO checks its signature with a secret you share. HMO receivables show what each HMO owes by age. One HMO transfer is shared across the claims it settles. A write-off needs a reason, and an owner can require a second person's approval for larger ones.

HMO billing is available on any plan once the hospital's Insurance setting is Outside the US. Only the owner can change it under Settings, General, and new workspaces start on United States. It is a setting, not a location, so a Nigerian hospital still has to change it. On plan fit, the Free plan holds 2 staff or providers and 50 clients, and Essential covers up to 5 staff or providers. A hospital with more people than that will need Team or Enterprise, which is a size limit and not a limit on HMO billing. Team includes 5 providers, then ₦29,000 a month for each extra, with unlimited practice locations. Enterprise has unlimited staff and is priced individually. The pricing page has the details.

An HMO's own connection to a hospital through the ClinikEHR API (api.clinikehr.com) is separate from HMO billing and has two Enterprise requirements. The hospital is on the Enterprise plan, and the HMO's organization is on the Enterprise contract plan, which ClinikEHR sets on request. The HMO also needs ClinikEHR's approval, and each hospital chooses whether to link it. The API docs list the rest, and the claims integration guide walks through the developer steps. The ClinikEHR API is not ClinikAPI (clinikapi.com), a separate product built around FHIR R4, a health-data standard, with its own site, keys and licence.

ClinikEHR does not offer NHIA reporting, fraud scoring or automatic tariff vetting. Fraud scoring would rate how likely a claim is to be false. Automatic tariff vetting would check the claim lines an HMO receives against that HMO's price list. Bill HMO only prices your own lines from the list you load. ClinikEHR also does not ask an HMO whether a member is covered. Staff record the member number, plan and expiry, and Bill HMO will not run on expired cover until it is updated on the patient's profile. If you need those, pair ClinikEHR with a separate tool built for that job.

The Six Vendors, in Alphabetical Order

Each block gives what the vendor's own pages say about HMO billing, how it is sold, its size limits and one thing worth knowing. Every fact was checked in October 2026 and links to its page.

AjirMed

  • HMO billing. AjirMed's home page (checked October 2026) lists HMO workflows and an HMO administration role, which coordinates insurance workflows, services and financial records. Its hospital management page lists, under Revenue, generating claims for health insurance. No steps or fields are given, so Table B marks claims as Named.
  • How it is sold. Its pricing page (checked October 2026) says to contact sales for the price. The one plan, Deal 360, lists unlimited patients and staff licences. The first-year fee can be paid upfront or in four monthly payments. A demo account needs no card.
  • Size limits. The page lists unlimited patients and staff licences. It says prices depend on the size of the facility.
  • Worth knowing. HMO billing is named, not described.

eClinicPlus

  • HMO billing. Its home page (checked October 2026) lists support for HMO claims processing and a module called Insurance & Claims (HMO) Management. It does not say how either works, so Table B marks claims as Named.
  • How it is sold. There are three tiers, priced as in Table A. Each tier says all features are included. The software can be deployed online, on a local network or on a standalone PC. No trial is stated.
  • Size limits. Patients: up to 1,500, up to 4,500, then unlimited.
  • Worth knowing. The HMO function is named in two lines. How a claim reaches an HMO is not stated.

Hyella

  • HMO billing. Hyella's HMO Reconciliation page (checked October 2026) describes a module for hospitals in Nigeria and Africa that helps with reconciling HMO balances. It adds that its EMR is integrated with the module for patients who switch from private paying to HMO-covered payment. Its article on HMO claims says it supports HMO and multi-payer billing connected to the clinical record. The pages give purposes, not steps, so Table B marks the bill split and what each insurer owes as Named.
  • How it is sold. Its FAQ page (checked October 2026) lists a stand-alone and a server version, each with training for up to three users. A yearly licence and maintenance fee is listed for each, as in Table A. The page names no currency, is written for every kind of business and does not say the prices are for the hospital system. It gives a 30-day trial.
  • Size limits. No fee for each user. No other limit is stated.
  • Worth knowing. The pages read describe reconciliation and do not state a claims register. Its developer page describes imaging, booking and payment integrations and no insurer API.

Intuitive HMS

  • HMO billing. The hospital page and FAQ of Intuitive HMS, from Intuitive Global Healthcare Systems (checked October 2026), list insurance and HMO billing with co-payment splits. The FAQ names sponsor-patient payment splits, approval workflows, sponsor credit notes, several rate plans and balances for each sponsor. Sponsor is the page's word for the payer. The terms are not defined, so Table B marks them as Named.
  • How it is sold. A monthly subscription, priced by module and facility size, on quote. Custom development is quoted separately. The hospital page offers a free demo. No trial is stated.
  • Size limits. None stated.
  • Worth knowing. HMO billing gets about a sentence on each page. A REST API and webhooks are mentioned for third-party systems, and the page does not say they are for insurers.

MocDoc

  • HMO billing. MocDoc's insurance billing page (checked October 2026) says it is based in Chennai, India. The page says you can create rate plans for insurance providers and corporate clients, manage copayments and secondary insurance, and track claim status. Its Nigeria page lists an insurance workflow with pre-authorization and claims. A payment tracker is named, and submissions are described as automated, with no channel to the insurer given.
  • How it is sold. Its pricing page (checked October 2026) shows dollars a year, as in Table A, with one-time onboarding of $800, $1,500 and $2,500. The fourth plan is by quote. Co-payment management is on every plan, and secondary insurance management is on all but the first. No trial is stated.
  • Size limits. Up to 10 users and suitable for 20 beds or fewer, then 25 users and 50 beds or fewer, then 50 users and 100 beds or fewer.
  • Worth knowing. Prices are in dollars and not converted here. Its API pages describe the hospital's own systems, and no insurer-facing access is stated.

Orion HMS

  • HMO billing. Orion's home page (checked October 2026), from Orion Medical Systems, says HMO enrollment and claims are built in, and its billing module lists reconciliation. It also describes corporate and family billing groups. No screens or steps are given, so Table B marks claims and what each insurer owes as Named.
  • How it is sold. Naira prices as in Table A, billed annually and paid up front, with a monthly option at a small premium. The page calls them starting points and says every feature in a tier is on. A free 30-minute demo is offered, and no trial is stated. It runs on the hospital's local server.
  • Size limits. By beds: 10 to 50 beds on the second tier, and 50 or more or several branches on the third.
  • Worth knowing. HMO billing is named, not described. No price list for each insurer, bill split, remittance, write-off, pre-authorization or channel wording was found.

How to Use This Comparison: Six Steps

Step 1: Write Down Your Nine Tasks

What to do. List each HMO you bill. Beside each task in the table, write who does it today and where: a person, a screen or a spreadsheet.

TaskIn plain wordsWhat to ask to see
1. Split the billOne sale becomes an HMO share and a patient shareA bill where both shares add up to the line
2. Price list per HMOEach HMO pays its own agreed pricesA separate list for each HMO
3. Claims registerEvery claim in one place, with a statusThe list of claims and their statuses
4. What each HMO owesThe unpaid amount for each HMO, by ageA screen with one row for each HMO
5. Recording HMO paymentsOne transfer, many claimsA payment shared across claims
6. Write-offsClosing what an HMO will never payA reason and a name on each one
7. Pre-authorizationThe HMO's approval code goes on the claimA code that follows the patient to the claim
8. Claim deliveryHow the claim reaches the HMOThe route, and what happens if it fails
9. API for HMOsHow an HMO's developers read your claimsWhat they need and who approves it

What you need. Your HMO list, each HMO's price list as a file, and one week of recent bills.

How you know it worked. Every task has a name beside it, even if the name is "done by hand".

The mistake people make. Starting from a vendor's feature list.

Step 2: Match the Size and the Price Basis

What to do. Find what each vendor counts to set its price: patients, users, beds, providers or nothing. Table A and the vendor blocks show which. Put every price on one basis: setup and first year, then each later year.

What you need. Your counts of staff or providers, patients, beds and branches.

How you know it worked. Each product has one first-year figure and one yearly figure, or you have asked the vendor for them.

The mistake people make. Comparing naira with dollars at a guessed exchange rate. This page converts nothing. Ask the vendor to quote in the currency you will pay.

Step 3: Read the Pages Behind Each Cell

What to do. Use Table B to see which tasks a vendor's pages describe, name or leave unstated. Open the linked page and read the sentence yourself.

What you need. The links in the vendor blocks.

How you know it worked. For each task you hold a note: Described, Named or Not stated, with the page address and the date.

The mistake people make. Reading Not stated as a no, or Named as a yes.

Step 4: Ask Each Vendor to Run the Same Bill

What to do. Give every vendor the same illustrative sale, built from one of your own HMO price lists. The table shows one. In ClinikEHR the line is priced at the HMO's price, and the ₦300 difference is not billed to anyone. The hospital absorbs it. Another product may treat the difference differently, which is why you ask.

Illustrative saleAmount
Hospital price₦1,500
HMO's agreed price₦1,200
Plan co-payment20 percent
Line priced at₦1,200
HMO pays₦960
Patient pays₦240
Difference between the two prices₦300

These numbers are illustrative. They are invented to show the arithmetic, not prices from any HMO. The tariffs guide uses the same example. Then ask these nine questions, one for each task in Step 1.

  1. Show one bill where an HMO pays part and the patient pays part. Where does the HMO's share go, and is it counted as cash received?
  2. Can you load a price list for each HMO separately, and what happens when an HMO's price is higher than yours?
  3. Where can I see every claim and its status, and who can change it after it is sent?
  4. Which screen shows what each HMO owes me, and how old the debt is?
  5. When an HMO pays many claims in one transfer, how do I record it once and tell which claims it settled?
  6. How do I close a balance the HMO will never pay, who must agree, and is the reason recorded?
  7. Where do I record an HMO's authorization code, and does it follow the patient to the claim?
  8. How does a claim reach the HMO: a file, an email, a portal, or a connection of its own? What happens if delivery fails?
  9. If an HMO's developers want to read our claims, what do they need and who approves it?

What you need. One HMO's real price list, a plan with a co-payment percent, and your data, not the vendor's sample data.

How you know it worked. The vendor shows the HMO's share, the patient's share and the difference on screen, and answers each question by showing it.

The mistake people make. Watching a demo on sample data, which is chosen to work.

Step 5: Ask for the Gaps in Writing

What to do. Send every vendor one email asking which of the nine tasks it does not do. Ask for the answer in writing.

What you need. The nine tasks from Step 1.

How you know it worked. You hold a dated reply from each vendor.

The mistake people make. Accepting a yes on a call.

Step 6: Start With One HMO

What to do. Pick the HMO you bill most. Set up its price list and plan, bill a week of real sales, then add the next HMO. In ClinikEHR the owner sets Insurance to Outside the US first. The billing steps are in Getting Paid by HMOs in Nigeria.

What you need. The owner's login, one price list file and one plan with its co-payment percent.

How you know it worked. After a week:

  • Each HMO bill shows two amounts, the HMO's and the patient's, and they add up to the line.
  • Each claim has a status you can name.
  • Once a claim is submitted, the receivables screen shows what that HMO owes, by age.
  • One HMO transfer, if you received it, is recorded once, and each claim shows what is still owed.
  • A write-off, if you made one, carries a reason and a name.

The mistake people make. Moving every HMO on day one. One HMO's week of bills shows you where the setup is wrong while the fix is small.

Mistakes That Cost Hospitals Money

  1. Letting a headline figure decide. Some vendor pages carry performance figures or customer counts. Ask the vendor for the source in writing.
  2. Assuming delivered means accepted or paid. Delivering a claim to an HMO is one task. Whether the HMO accepts or pays is the HMO's decision, and ClinikEHR promises neither.
  3. Leaving roles for later. Decide before go-live who changes price lists, who can write off a balance and who owns the Insurance setting. In ClinikEHR an owner or manager changes prices, and only the owner changes the Insurance setting.
  4. Not asking where the software runs. Some vendors on this page say their software can run on the hospital's own computers, as the vendor blocks show. A system on your own computer needs someone to look after the machine and its backups.
  5. Not asking each HMO how it wants claims. In ClinikEHR each HMO is set up with one way of receiving claims. Ask every HMO how it wants them before you choose, then check that the software supports that route.

Frequently Asked Questions

What is the best HMO billing software for Nigerian hospitals?

It depends on the tasks your billers do. This comparison counts nine. They are splitting the bill, a price list for each HMO, a claims register, what each HMO owes, recording payments, write-offs, pre-authorization, claim delivery and an API for HMOs. It counts what each product's own pages say, and a function a page does not mention is marked not stated, which does not mean the product lacks it. ClinikEHR describes all nine, and the six vendors describe between none and three. That measures what is published, not how well the software works, so ask each vendor to run one real bill.

Can I bill HMOs in ClinikEHR on the Free plan?

HMO billing is available on any plan once the clinic's Insurance setting is Outside the US, and that includes the Free plan. The owner sets it under Settings, General, Insurance. The Free plan holds 2 staff or providers and 50 clients, and Essential covers up to 5 staff or providers. A hospital with more people than that will need Team or Enterprise, which is a size limit, not a limit on HMO billing. Prices are on the pricing page.

How do I test HMO billing software with my own bills?

Ask each vendor to bill the same illustrative sale from your own price lists. In ClinikEHR, an illustrative sale has a 20 percent co-payment, a hospital price of ₦1,500 and an HMO price of ₦1,200. The line is priced at ₦1,200, so the HMO pays ₦960 and the patient pays ₦240. The ₦300 difference is not billed to anyone. Ask where the HMO's share goes, whether it is counted as cash received and how the vendor treats the difference. Then ask for the gaps in writing.

Which of the six vendors publish a price?

As read in October 2026, eClinicPlus and Orion HMS publish naira prices, and MocDoc publishes dollar prices for three of its four plans. Hyella lists prices on a general FAQ page that names no currency. AjirMed and Intuitive HMS sell by quote. No price is converted, and vendors may have changed their pages, so open the vendor's page before you decide.

Does ClinikEHR offer NHIA reporting, fraud scoring or automatic tariff vetting?

No. ClinikEHR does not offer NHIA reporting, fraud scoring or automatic tariff vetting, and it does not ask an HMO whether a member is covered. None of the six vendors' pages that were read mentions these three either, which is silence and not a claim that they lack them. In ClinikEHR, staff record each member's number, plan and expiry.

Does ClinikEHR send claims to HMOs?

Where the hospital has set up the HMO's chosen channel, ClinikEHR delivers the claim that way. The channels include the ClinikEHR API, a signed webhook, an email with a secure link and the HMO's own portal. The link expires after 7 days, and nothing is sent from ClinikEHR when the HMO's portal is used. A hospital that has set none sends by hand and records how. ClinikEHR does not connect to NHIA, and it promises no acceptance or payment.

What does an HMO need to connect to a hospital through the ClinikEHR API?

This is separate from HMO billing and has two Enterprise requirements. The hospital is on the Enterprise plan, and the HMO's organization is on the Enterprise contract plan, which ClinikEHR sets on request. The HMO also needs ClinikEHR's approval, and each hospital chooses whether to link it. The ClinikEHR API is not ClinikAPI, a separate FHIR R4 product.

Is this comparison independent?

No. ClinikEHR publishes it and lists itself first. Each vendor fact comes from that vendor's own pages, read in October 2026, and the page gives no score, rating or ranking among the six. Vendors may have changed their pages since, so check the linked page for anything you rely on.

Conclusion

Choosing HMO billing software comes down to nine tasks and one real bill. Run the same bill with every vendor you shortlist, and ask each one for its gaps in writing.

To see Bill HMO on a sale of your own, set Insurance to Outside the US and try one HMO. For other questions, talk to the team.

Bill your HMOs inside ClinikEHR

Start on the Free plan, set Insurance to Outside the US, and bill an HMO's share from a sale. No card is needed. The Free plan holds 2 staff or providers and 50 clients, so a larger hospital will need Team or Enterprise.
Start Free →
★★★★★4.9/5 Rating
No credit card required to start

Related Articles

Facts are as of the dates shown. Check the linked sources for updates. This is general information, not legal or professional advice.

Stay in the loop

Subscribe to our newsletter for the latest updates on healthcare technology, HIPAA compliance, and exclusive content delivered straight to your inbox.

Weekly updates
Healthcare insights
HIPAA updates
Subscribe to our Newsletter
Join over 100,000 healthcare professionals

We respect your privacy. Unsubscribe at any time.